Welcome back Hoover baseball fans!  Hoping all of you has an enjoyable and safe holiday season with family and friends!

All-Ohioans – According to the Ohio High School Baseball Coaches Association, All-Ohio designation prior to 1993 was based upon playing in the Senior All Star Series.  Since 1993, coaches poll voting has determined All-Ohio recipients.  The following Hoover baseball players have earned All-Ohio status:  Dale Stevens (1960), Dick Snyder (1962), Craig Erbland (1963), Dennis Anderson (1964), Jeff Myers (1965), Dave Wrigley (1981), Gregg Fouts (1983), Bryan Ashby (1988), Mike Pedone (1989), Greg Larrick (1998), Mike Sturznickel (1999) and Dom Iero (2013).

College Commitments – Several Stark County seniors have recently announced their college commitments for academics and baseball.  They include Jamison Ellis (Hoover), Ohio Wesleyan for golf; Josh Romans (Jackson), Northern Kentucky; Jake Aleman (Jackson), Malone; Anthony Sabatino (Marlington), Marietta College; Benny Hymes (Jackson), Walsh; Connor Frazier (Jackson), Gannon University; Carson Nicodemo (Lake), New Mexico State; Davis Burick (Louisville), Walsh; Petey Tayler (Jackson), Akron; Aidan Longwell (Massillon), Kent State; Tim Orr (Lake), Tiffin University; Logan Jones (GlenOak), Ohio University; Nick Rossetti (GlenOak), Mount Vernon Nazarene; Trent Jones (Jackson), Ohio State; Shea Simmer (Green), Walsh.

2005 Scoreboard Installation – It is hard to believe but the current scoreboard at Dick Miller Field has kept score for 15 seasons.  The Repository featured the installation of the new Fair-Play scoreboard on April 15, 2005.  At the time, it featured a message display on the top.  The scoreboard it replaced was relocated to the North Canton Little League complex (Field 2).

State Tournament History – The Hoover Vikings have been fortunate to be part of two State Tournament appearances in 1992 and 1999.  Their appearance in 1992 was the first appearance by a Stark County school since 1960.  Since the State Tournament event started in 1928, there have been nine State Champions from Stark County – McKinley (1937), McKinley (1939), GlenOak (1995), GlenOak (1996), Canton Central Catholic (2008), Canton Central Catholic (2011), Jackson (2014), Canton Central Catholic (2015) and Jackson (2017).  There were just two divisions through 1970.  From 1971 until 1990, divisions expanded to three.  Since 1991, champions have been crowned in four divisions.  An interesting connection to the State Tournament history is former Hoover player Derek Zeigler (2005-2006).  His dad, Dave, was part of the 1978 State Champions from Coshocton High School.  Dave led the Redskins with a .451 batting average on the season.

2005 Season Revisited – The Jeff Hite coaching era started with a dramatic 3-2 comeback win over Timken on March 29th.  Richard Nicodemo was hit by a pitch with the bases loaded capping a two-run final at bat victory.  The Vikings went on to complete a 15-10 record for the season.  Highlights of the season included Brian Scheller’s five-hit shutout over Louisville, a Federal League sweep over Boardman, a doubleheader sweep over Akron North with an offensive explosion of 30 runs, the extra inning defeat of Perry at home on Derek Zeigler’s RBI single, a six-run final at bat defeated McKinley at Don Scott Field and Kyle Scheppen earned his 6th victory of the season defeating Jackson 5-4 in the season finale on May 20th.  Brian Scheller, Nicodemo, Evan Merten  and Scheppen earned Federal League honors.

As always, Go Vikings!

Craig Haueter (,  (330) 936-1695